Guidelines

What is a token creature in Magic?

What is a token creature in Magic?

Creature Tokens are not cards. That’s what “token” means. Not being a card is only relevant if they leave the battlefield (they cease to exist, and can’t come back), or if some effect specifically says “token” or “nontoken” or “card”. There are tokens that are not creatures, by the way.

Do tokens have creature types?

No. “Token” is not a creature type; it’s not a subtype at all.

Is a creature token a creature?

Usually, but not always, tokens are creatures. This wiki presents a comprehensive list of all tokens. Normally tokens can exist only on the battlefield, due to state-based effects.

Can you exile a token creature?

Nope. The token is essentially removed from existing at all. Just like a token can’t actually be placed into the graveyard. Tokens only exist on the battlefield.

Do tokens get summoning sickness?

You said it’s an instant that creates tokens. If the spell is cast anytime before that player’s turn, then when it becomes that player’s turn, since the tokens have been under his or her control since the beginning of the turn, they do not suffer summoning sickness.

Do tokens ETB?

Yes. Creating a token is that token entering the Battlefield. It will trigger appropriate abilities.

Can a creature token be returned to hand?

Yes you can return it to their hand; no this will not count as destroying it. “Destroy” in Magic means something very specific. What actually happens is that the token is put into their hand, and then ceases to exist the next time state-based effects are checked.

Is a token a permanent?

A card or token becomes a permanent as it enters the battlefield and it stops being a permanent as it’s moved to another zone by an effect or rule. 110.2.

Can you tap a creature with summoning sickness?

A creature that has “summoning sickness” cannot attack or activate abilities that have or in their costs. A summoning sick creature can tap to activate its own ability that asks for something to be tapped.

Can summoning sickness creatures block?

A creature with summoning sickness can block opposing creatures. Creatures have two values that represent their strength in combat, printed on the lower right-hand corner of the card. Some non-creature cards have the “Tribal” type, which allows them to have creature types without being creatures themselves.

Do tokens count towards devotion?

Do tokens count toward devotion? Normal tokens have no mana cost, so they won’t count. Now if you use something like Fated Infatuation to make a token of a creature, that token will count toward Devoted in the same way that the original card did.

Is “token” a creature type?

Token is not a creature type. Token is a placeholder object that represents something that was created with an effect. Creature tokens often have their own creature types specified within the efect that creates them.

Do token creatures go to the graveyard in Magic The Gathering?

Creature tokens ARE put into the graveyard as normal creatures are. They enter the graveyard for just long enough to trigger goes-to-the-graveyard abilities, then the game sees noncard objects in the graveyard, freaks out, and deletes them from existence as a state-based action.

Are creature tokens considered permanents?

A creature token that dies goes to the graveyard, just like any other creature. Once in the graveyard (or any other zone), there is a state-based action that causes the token to cease to exist. Is a token a permanent? Tokens are permanents. Tokens, being permanents, are affected by Devastation Tide. Each token leaves the battlefield.